Lighthouse Hill is another one of Staten Island’s hilly and private communities that lies between Historic Richmondtown and Todt Hill. Its tree lined streets and medley of stunning homes and museums makes Lighthouse Hill an attractive and stimulating haven. It acquired its present name when “the Staten Island Range Light, towering 141 feet above the lower New York Bay was built there in 1912”. Lighthouse Hill is not only home to the Lighthouse, but also the Tibetan Museum opened by Jacques Marchais in 1945. The museum was opened to “bridge the gap between Tibetan art and culture and the world” and lies in a tiny and well preserved alcove on Edinboro Road. Lighthouse hill is directly in the middle of the tranquil High Rock Park, which is a part of the Greenbelt, and following the trail along to its highest point; one will find the Frank Lloyd Wright House titled the “Crimson Beech” which was prefabricated and erected in 1959. It is the only Frank Lloyd Wright house in New York City.
Also, directly north of Lighthouse Hill is the public and prestigious Latourette Golf Course that was built in the 1830s as a farm. However, the farm is no longer in existence and was converted into a golf course in the early nineteen seventies. The Latourette mansion is now used as the clubhouse for the golf course. The schools that are in the area are Tanglewood School, Monsignor Farrell High School, Mark Avenue School, Rabbi Jacob Joseph School, Gaynor McCown Expeditionary School and Susan Wagner High School. The homes in the area can range from the nineteenth century to brand new constructions. Lighthouse Hill has some of the most beautiful property in New York City and rests in a lush and luxurious setting.